CFD(差价合约)是复杂的产品,由于杠杆作用,面临快速亏损的高风险。68%的零售投资者账户通过此提供商交易CFD时会损失资金。
您应该考虑自己是否已经了解差价合约的运行机制,以及您是否能够承担可能损失资金的高风险。

CFD(差价合约)是复杂的产品,由于杠杆作用,面临快速亏损的高风险。68%的零售投资者账户通过此提供商交易CFD时会损失资金。
您应该考虑自己是否已经了解CFD的运行机制,以及您是否能够承担可能损失资金的高风险。

通胀

当消费品价格上升使得一国货币的单位价值降低时,通胀可能导致货币快速贬值。保持通胀水平受控是央行的职责。了解关于通胀原因的更多信息。

通胀如何影响金融市场

通胀水平是决定货币强弱的最重要因素之一。这是因为通胀对央行货币政策有着直接影响。

通胀不断上升将推动央行考虑通过加息收紧货币政策。这是因为:

*通胀太低有使经济进入通缩的风险。
*通胀太高将侵蚀经济中的实际货币价值。
央行的目标将是利用货币政策将通胀控制在较低和稳定的水平,这通常是它的主要使命。

信息框:通胀、通胀减缓和通缩

*通胀 – 是指价格水平从一个时期到下一个时期总体上涨,通常是按年进行计量。
*通胀减缓 – 是指经济中仍存在通胀,但通胀水平在下降。价格水平从一个时期到下一个时期仍在上涨,但速度放缓。例如,拥有通胀趋势的某个经济体,之前为2.0%,然后下滑至1.5%,然后再下滑至1.0%,则是正经历通胀减缓。
*通缩 – 是指通胀已经变为负值。总体价格水平从一个时期到下一个时期出现下降。这被认为对经济不利。其担忧在于,消费者承认通缩已经站稳脚跟,认为商品价格在未来将会下降,从推动支出减少。

为什么通胀如此重要?

央行关注通胀并且将其作为将如何实施货币政策的一个主要度量指标。看到通胀上升时,央行将会认为可能需要加息,以保持对价格的控制。加息将使借款成本上升,并且随后将压制经济中的需求。然后需求降低将开始给总体价格水平带来下行压力,并再次压低通胀。

因此,通胀可能对货币政策存在直接影响。例如,美联储拥有“双重使命”,这通过1977年的《联邦储备法》正式列为法律条文。

双重使命的一方面是促进价格稳定,另一方面是注意保持低失业率。随后美联储设定了2%的通胀目标,并致力于实现该目标。英国央行也设定了2%的消费者物价指数目标,而欧洲央行的使命是将通胀率保持在“低于但接近2%的水平”。

各种通胀公告

在一个月中有多种经济数据发布,可以为您提供通常的导向。这些指数中上升一般对本国货币来说为正面,对债券价格为负面。需要关注的关键指标为:

消费者物价指数(CPI)

此指标是公认的国际通胀指标,并且对本国货币和债券有着更大的影响。整体CPI包括波动性食品和能源价格,因此核心CPI通常是一个更好的通胀度量指标,因为它排除并且针对波动性因素进行了调整。如果整体CPI仍持平,而核心CPI上升,这将影响 货币和债券市场。你应该同时关注两组数据,并主要注意年同比数据。

个人消费支出(PCE)

PCE是一个美国指标,也是美联储偏好的通胀衡量指标。这是因为消费者在美国的最终支出中占比大约为70%。

平均薪金增长

显示工资增长情况的一个指标。根据工资增长是确定生活水平的一个关键因素的理论,平均薪金增长则是经济状况的一个关键组成。如果(名义)薪金增长持续高于CPI,则实际工资将上升,并且人民的生活水平因此将会总体提高。

然而,强劲的工资增长也可能是未来通胀的一个指标,因为人们有了更多的钱可供支出。在美国,工资增长是在就业形势报告中(即,非农就业报告)作为“平均时薪”进行计量;而在英国,是通过就业数据公布,并采用“平均周薪”进行计量。

生产者物价指数(PPI)

又称为“出厂价格指数”,衡量的是国内商品和服务生产者获得的销售价格。理论显示,零售商会将他们的成本上涨转移给消费者,因此可以用来预测CPI。

就业成本指数(ECI)

每季度发布的一种数据,是对美国雇主劳动力成本的广义计量。工资和薪水大约占总就业成本的70%。ECI也是劳动力市场能力的一个衡量指标,并且转移到盈利增长以及通胀。

通胀对金融市场的影响

债券市场对通胀变化非常敏感,这是由于它们对货币政策以及未来货币政策预期有潜在影响。如果债券市场预期通胀将上升(并且随后还预期利率将会上调),则债券将承受抛售压力。这将推动债券价格走低,意味着收益率将上升,因为它们具有固定收益的属性。

外汇市场也将由于通胀预期而直接变动,因为它与货币政策存在密切关联。通胀上升将增加央行加息的可能性。这反过来又将增加对本国货币的需求,因为利率差的预期出现变化——推动“热钱”流动。因此,本国货币的价格相对其它国家货币将会出现升值。

通胀变化对股票市场表现的影响不确定。有很多因素需要衡量,具体取决于通胀变化的大小、方向和通胀水平。在一切保持不变的情况下,通胀上升意味着利率上调。然而,这也会增加企业的利息支出,企业更喜欢较低利率的环境,这样借贷成本更低。因此通胀上升可能推动股价走低。

但是,没有任何事情是非黑即白的,这是金融市场永恒不变的原理。

准备好开始交易了吗?

立即开始交易

只需4个简单步骤即可开设账户

CFDs are complex instruments and come with a high risk of losing money rapidly due to leverage. 68% of retail investor accounts lose money when trading CFDs with this provider.
You should consider whether you understand how CFDs work and whether you can afford to take the high risk of losing your money.

CFDs are complex instruments and come with a high risk of losing money rapidly due to leverage. 68% of retail investor accounts lose money when trading CFDs with this provider.
You should consider whether you understand how CFDs work and whether you can afford to take the high risk of losing your money.

Inflation

Inflation can de-value a currency quickly when price rises for consumer products make the units of a country’s currency less valuable. Keeping inflation levels in check is the job of central bankers. Learn more about what causes it.

How Inflation affects financial markets

The level of inflation is one of the most important factors determining a currency’s strength. This is because inflation has a direct impact on central bank monetary policy.

Increasing inflation will push the central bank to consider tightening monetary policy by increasing interest rates. This is because:

  • Too little inflation runs the risk of an economy falling into deflation.
  • Too much inflation erodes the real value of money in the economy.

A central bank will aim to use monetary policy to regulate inflation at low and steady levels, often as its primary mandate.

INFOBOX: Inflation, Disinflation and Deflation

  • INFLATION – is a general increase in the price level from one period to the next, usually, measure on an annual basis.
  • DISINFLATION – This is where there is inflation in the economy, but the level of inflation is falling. The general level of prices is still rising from one period to the next but at a lower rate. For example, an economy that has a trend of inflation that has previously been at 2.0% then falls to 1.5% and then subsequently to 1.0% is experiencing a period of falling inflation, or disinflation.
  • DEFLATION – This is where inflation has gone negative. The general level of prices has fallen from one period to the next. This is considered to be bad for the economy. The concern is that consumers accept that deflation is taking hold, which drives spending lower in the belief that prices of goods will be lower in the future.

Why is inflation so important?

Central banks look at inflation and use it as a primary gauge as to how to implement monetary policy. A central bank that sees inflation rising will be mindful that it may need to raise interest rates to keep control on prices. An increase in interest rates will make it more expensive to borrow and will subsequently choke off demand in the economy. The decrease in demand will then begin to put downward pressure on general price levels and moderate inflation again.

Inflation can, therefore, have a direct impact on monetary policy. For example, the US Federal Reserve (the Fed) has a “dual mandate” enacted into law by the Federal Reserve Act of 1977.

One part of the dual mandate is to promote price stability, and the other part is concerned with keeping unemployment low. The Fed has subsequently set a 2% inflation target that it is mandated to work towards. The Bank of England also has a 2% target for the Consumer Prices Index, while the European Central Bank’s mandate is for an inflation rate “below but close to 2%”.

The various inflation announcements

There are several economic data releases through the month, which can provide you with a steer on inflation. Any increase in these indicators tends to be positive for the domestic currency and negative for bond prices. The key ones to watch for are:

Consumer Prices Index (CPI)

This indicator is the accepted international gauge of inflation and will have a big impact on the domestic currency and bonds. The headline CPI includes volatile food and energy prices, so the core CPI is often a better gauge of inflation as it strips out and adjusts for volatile factors. If the headline CPI remains flat while the core CPI is increasing, this will impact the forex and bond markets. You should watch for both numbers and look out for the year-on-year-data predominantly.

Personal Consumption Expenditure (PCE)

PCE is a US indicator and the Federal Reserve’s preferred measure of inflation. This is because consumers account for around 70% of final spending in the US.

Average earnings growth

An indicator that shows how wages are growing. On the principle that wage growth is a key factor in determining living standards, average earnings growth is a key component in the state of the economy. If (nominal) earnings growth is consistently higher than CPI, then real wages will be rising, and therefore people’s living standards will be on aggregate rising.

However, strong wage growth is also a likely indicator of future inflation, as people have more money to spend. In the US wage growth is measured in the Employment Situation report (i.e. the Non-farm Payrolls report) as “Average Hourly Earnings”; while in the UK it is announced with the employment data and is measured as “Average Weekly Earnings”.

Producer Prices Index (PPI)

Also known as “factory-gate inflation” measures the change in selling prices received by domestic producers of goods and services. The theory suggests that retailers will push increases in their costs on to the consumer, and is therefore used to predict CPI.

Employment Cost Index (ECI)

A quarterly data release provides a broad measure of labour cost for employers in the US. Wages and salaries account for around 70% of the total employment cost. The ECI is also a measure of capacity in the labour market and is feedthrough into earnings growth and subsequently, inflation.

The impact of inflation on financial markets

Bond markets are very sensitive to changes in inflation, thanks to the potential impact they have on monetary policy and expectations about future monetary policy. If bond markets expect inflation to rise (and subsequently also expectations of interest rates to rise), bonds will come under selling pressure. This pushes the price of bonds lower, meaning the yield will rise due to their fixed-income properties. 

Forex markets will also directly move on changes to inflation expectations due to its close links to monetary policy. Rising inflation increases the probability that the central bank will raise interest rates. This, in turn, increases the demand for the domestic currency due to changing expectations of interest rate differentials – driving “hot money” flows. Therefore, the price of the domestic currency will improve relative to the currencies of other countries.

Performance of equity markets due to changes in inflation is uncertain. There are numerous factors to weigh up, depending upon the size of the change, the direction and the level of inflation. All things remaining equal, rising inflation means rising interest rates. However, that also increases interest expenses for corporates who prefer a lower interest rate environment where it is cheaper to borrow. Subsequently higher inflation may drive equity prices lower.

As is ever the case in financial markets, however, nothing is entirely black and white.

Start trading now

Register now in 4 easy steps