CFD(差价合约)是复杂的产品,由于杠杆作用,面临快速亏损的高风险。68%的零售投资者账户通过此提供商交易CFD时会损失资金。
您应该考虑自己是否已经了解差价合约的运行机制,以及您是否能够承担可能损失资金的高风险。

CFD(差价合约)是复杂的产品,由于杠杆作用,面临快速亏损的高风险。68%的零售投资者账户通过此提供商交易CFD时会损失资金。
您应该考虑自己是否已经了解CFD的运行机制,以及您是否能够承担可能损失资金的高风险。

利用RSI的交易信号

掌握相对强弱指标(RSI),它是技术分析中一个重要的动能指标,用来评估某个资产的市场动能,并了解它是否已经超买或超卖。

动能指标——RSI

相对强弱指标(RSI)交易者在技术分析中使用的一个很受欢迎的动能指标。RSI是一个“震荡”指标,在数值0到100之间移动。它可以帮助发现当前的价格状态,比如超买或超卖状态,以及趋势的强弱。RSI可以跨多个时间周期使用。

RSI观察的特定时间范围内价格上涨的周期数量(比如天数、小时数等),与价格下跌的周期数量进行比较。然后利用公式计算相对于相关周期范围内交易价格所处的位置。

在最初的研究中,威尔斯·威尔德(RSI的发明者)将14个周期作为使用的最佳数量。虽然也可以采用其它周期数量,但14是公认的交易者使用标准。例如,在日线图上,将使用14天RSI。在小时图上,将采用14小时RSI。

正如之前所说,参数可以调整,以满足使用者的需求。较短期的交易者在计算RSI时可能喜欢采用更少的周期,其中9周期RSI通常是一个比较主流的计算方式。计算中减少周期数量将导致指标的敏感性/波动性上升。结果可能就是更多的信号、更快地进入超买/超卖领域。 然而,需要注意的是,它增加了虚假信号的潜在可能。

计算

通过对威尔斯·威尔德的原始公式进行调整,RSI可以通过以下公式进行计算:

 

RSI = 100 - 100 / 1+RS

其中RS = 所采用周期数量期间的平均涨幅除以所采用周期数量期间的的平均跌幅

公式计算的数值在0到100之间。 一般来说,数值超过70被视为该价格存在超买,而数值低于30则被视为存在超卖。

需要注意的是,不要将RSI(相对强弱指标)与相对强度比混淆

RSI用我们熟知的首字母缩写表示的原因之一,是为了避免与相对强度比混淆,后者是衡量一个工具相对于另外一个工具的表现的指标。

解读RSI

RSI在0和100之间震荡,其中50被视为中性或中点。如果RSI超过50并且继续前进,则认为所研究周期内的动能为正。相反,如果RSI低于50并且继续下跌,则认为所研究周期内的动能为负。

在他最初的工作中,威尔斯·威尔德发现,当RSI超过70时交易工具变为超买,当RSI下跌至30以下时变为超卖。因此,RSI可以帮助识别某个趋势结束的信号。

图1欧元/美元的14天RSI

然而,具体如何分析RSI将取决于交易的价格是在一个强趋势性市场(上行或下行趋势),还是在一个区间市场中。

趋势性市场中RSI的解读不同于区间市场

在趋势性市场中,RSI可以长时期地保持扩张。由于RSI的计算方式,在强趋势中,通常会有持续的正面交易天数时期。因此,计算周期中看到的上行天数越多,根据定义,RSI越能够支撑在70以上的运行。 因此,RSI可以作为超买/超卖的计量指标,也可以作为趋势力度的计量指标。在强健的上行趋势市场中,RSI可以在70以上的位置维持一段时间。在强劲的下行趋势市场中,RSI可以在30以下的位置维持很长时间。

因此,在趋势性市场中利用RSI交易的最佳方式,就是按趋势的方向交易。在强劲上行趋势中,对RSI来说,疲软是一次买入机会。交易者会将RSI向50水平位的回撤(或者有时在40和50之间)视为买入压力重新出现之前的下行限制。然而,在RSI已经在强劲上行趋势中扩大的某个点,卖出有风险。这可能导致多头头寸平仓太早,或对上涨市场做空(这会是一个高风险策略)。

*在上行趋势中,交易者将寻找空头背离(解释见下文),作为趋势强度放缓的信号,它可以作为多头头寸获利了结的信号。
*在下行趋势中,多头背离可能表示卖出压力减弱,并且具有反转走高的潜在可能。

如果价格处于某个交易区间内,它将在阻力位和支撑位之间上下波动。这让交易者可以利用关于RSI的经典超买和超卖信号。

RSI的经典用法,是作为均值回归分析的一部分。交易者一般会将30超卖水平位作为买入信号(或平仓空头头寸)。交易者一般会将70超买水平位作为卖出信号(或平仓多头头寸)。

图2:英镑/美元的趋势性市场中RSI的解读不同于区间市场

RSI_graph2

利用RSI产生交易信号

1.交叉
交叉是当RSI移动穿越某个极值水平,然后开始折回移动时产生的一个买入或卖出信号。交叉利用了威尔斯·威尔德认为过度扩张的水平位,其中30被视为超卖,70被视为超买。RSI交叉信号在区间市场中更为有效。在强劲的趋势性市场中,RSI可能在极值位置(超买或超卖区域)维持一段时间,然后才形成反转。在区间市场中,RSI交叉和背离(见下文)可能是触发信号。

当卖出导致RSI下滑至30以下,然后反弹拉动RSI走高,交叉回到30上方时,则产生了一个交叉买入信号。信号是在价格交叉回到30上方时产生。

当价格上涨推动RSI超过70并且进入超买区域时,则产生了一个交叉卖出信号。之后RSI交叉回到70以下的调整结果,就是卖出信号。

图3:黄金的RSI交叉信号

RSI_graph3

2.多头和空头背离

背离在趋势性市场中很常见,不过它们也可以在交易区间中使用。交易者将寻找RSI和价格之间的背离,作为潜在趋势反转的信号。 在牛市中,如果价格出现新高,但同时RSI处于下降通道中,它表示上行动能的力度正在减弱。 这种情况被称为空头背离(或负背离),并且意味着价格反转的可能性上升。

如果价格不断走低,但RSI开始上升或低点不断抬高,则在熊市汇总可能出现多头背离。

背离交易中需要注意的,就是价格和RSI之间的背离可能持续一段时间,然后价格才会形成反转。

3.失败摆动

在上行和下行趋势中都可以发生失败摆动。在牛市中,失败摆动是一个卖出信号。形成失败摆动时,RSI移动到70以上的某个极值位置,只是随后回撤至70以下。然后RSI继续向上走动,只是在之前的峰值或下方产生第二个峰值。当RSI回撤至它最开始的低点时,则完成了失败摆动。在完美的形式中,RSI形成一个“M”图形(或非对称的“M”)。

在熊市中,失败摆动是一个买入信号。形成失败摆动时,RSI移动到30以下的一个极值位置,反弹导致RSI形成低点,并拉回至30上方。抛售压力重新恢复,将RSI拖回至30下方,但幅度小于之前的位置。RSI在之前低点或其上方形式第二个低点。当RSI的好转将其拉回到之前的反应高点时,则完成了一次失败摆动,从而形成(理想情况下)一个“W”图形(或非对称的“W”)。

注:利用RSI的最佳信号是使用信号的组合。

例如,带有失败摆动的空头背离可能是一个强有力的卖出信号。

图5:欧元美元带有失败摆动的RSI空头背离

图5:欧元美元带有失败摆动的RSI空头背离

RSI_graph4

注:在我们所有指标中,我们不建议单独利用某个指标进行交易。我们应始终寻找其它分析中的确认信号,以提高我们分析的确信度。

准备好开始交易了吗?

立即开始交易

只需4个简单步骤即可开设账户

CFDs are complex instruments and come with a high risk of losing money rapidly due to leverage. 68% of retail investor accounts lose money when trading CFDs with this provider.
You should consider whether you understand how CFDs work and whether you can afford to take the high risk of losing your money.

CFDs are complex instruments and come with a high risk of losing money rapidly due to leverage. 68% of retail investor accounts lose money when trading CFDs with this provider.
You should consider whether you understand how CFDs work and whether you can afford to take the high risk of losing your money.

Trading Signals with the RSI

Get to grips with the relative strength index (RSI), a vital momentum indicator used in technical analysis to assess the market momentum of an asset and understand if it has been overbought or oversold.

Momentum Indicators – RSI

The Relative Strength Index (RSI) is a popular momentum indicator used by traders looking at technical analysis. The RSI is an “oscillator” indicator that moves between the values of 0 to 100. It can help to signal the current state of the price, such as overbought/oversold conditions and the strength of the trend. The RSI is useful across several time horizons.

 The RSI looks at the number of periods (such as days, hours, etc.) across a given time frame in which price has risen, compared to the number of periods that the price has fallen. The formula then calculates where the price is trading relative to the range over the period in question.

 In the original study, Welles Wilder (the inventor of the RSI) used 14 periods as the optimum number to use. While it is possible to use other periods, it is generally accepted that 14 is the norm for traders to use. So, for example, on a daily chart, the 14 -day RSI would be used. On an hourly chart, 14 hour RSI would be used.

 As we said earlier, the parameters can be adjusted to meet the needs of the user. Shorter-term traders may like to use fewer periods when calculating the RSI, with the 9-period RSI often a popular calculation. Reducing the number of periods in the calculation will result in increased sensitivity/volatility of the indicator. This can result in more signals with quicker moves into the overbought/oversold territories.  However, the caveat is that it increases the potential for false signals.

Calculation

Using an adaptation from the original Welles Wilder formula, the RSI can be calculated as:

RSI = 100 - 100 / 1+RS

Where RS = The average gain over the number of periods divided by the average loss over the number of periods

The formula calculates a number in a range between 0 and 100.  Broadly speaking a reading above 70 is used to suggest that the price is overbought, while a reading below 30 is used to suggest that it is oversold.   

Be careful not confuse the RSI (Relative Strength Indicator) with the Relative Strength Ratio

 One of the reasons why the RSI is known by its acronym is to avoid confusion with the Relative Strength Ratio, which is an indicator that measures the performance of one instrument relative to another.

Reading the RSI

The RSI oscillates between 0 and 100, with 50 considered to be the neutral, or mid-point. If the RSI is above the 50-level and advancing, momentum over the period being studied is considered to be positive. Conversely, if the RSI is below 50 and in decline, momentum over the period being studied is considered to be negative.

 In his original work, Welles Wilder found that the instrument became overbought when the RSI went above 70 and became oversold when the RSI fell below 30. The RSI can, therefore, help to identify signs of exhaustion in a trend.

Figure 1. The 14 day RSI on EUR/USD

However, exactly how you analyse the RSI will depend on whether the price is trading in a strongly trending market (either an uptrend or downtrend) or whether it is trading in a ranging market.

Reading the RSI in a trending market is different from a ranging market

In a trending market, the RSI can remain overstretched for an extended period. Due to the way the RSI is calculated, in a strong trend, there will often be sustained periods of positive trading days. Therefore, the more up days that are seen in the calculation period, by definition, the more the RSI can support a move above 70.  The RSI can subsequently be a gauge of trend strength as well as overbought/oversold. In a robust up-trending market, the RSI may be able to sustain a position above 70 for some time. In a strong down-trending market, the RSI may be able to sustain a position below 30 for an extended period.

 Therefore, the best way to trade with the RSI in a trending market is to trade in the direction of the trend. In a strong uptrend, the RSI, weakness is a chance to buy. Traders will look to the RSI unwinding towards the 50-level (or sometimes between 40 and 50) as the limit of the downside before the buying pressure resumes. However, risk comes with selling at a point where the RSI has become extended in a strong uptrend. This could result in either closing a long position too soon or going short into a rising market (which can be a high-risk strategy).

  •  In an uptrend, traders will look for bearish divergences (explained below) to be a signal of slowing trend strength, which can be a signal to take profit on long positions.
  • In a downtrend, bullish divergences can suggest selling pressure abating and the potential for a reversal higher.

If the price is in a trading range, it will move higher and lower between resistance and support levels. This will allow the trader to use classic overbought and oversold signals on the RSI.

The classic use of the RSI is as part of a mean reversion study. Traders would look to use the oversold 30-level for buy signals (or close short positions). Traders would seek to use the overbought 70-level to sell short (or close long positions).

 Figure 2: Reading RSI signals in a trending market on GBP/USD is different from a ranging market

RSI_graph2

Using RSI to generate trading signals

  1. Crossovers

A crossover is a buy or sell signal that is generated when the RSI moves through an extreme level and then begins to retrace the move. The crossover uses the levels that Welles Wilder deemed to be overstretched, with 30 considered oversold and 70 considered overbought. RSI crossover signals will work better in a ranging market. In a strongly trending market, the RSI can sustain an extreme position (either in an overbought or oversold territory) for some time before a reversal takes hold. In ranging markets, RSI crossovers and divergences (see below) can be the trigger signals.

 A crossover buy signal is generated by a sell-off that takes the RSI below 30, and then a recovery pulls the RSI higher to cross back above 30. The signal is generated as the price crosses back above 30.

 A crossover sell signal is generated when the price rise pushes the RSI above 70 and into overbought territory. A subsequent correction results in the RSI crossing back below 70, which is the sell signal.

Figure 3: RSI crossover signals on Gold3

RSI_graph3

2. Bullish and Bearish Divergences

Divergences are usually seen in trending markets, although they can also be of use in trading ranges too. Traders will look for divergences between the RSI and the price as an indication of a potential trend reversal.  In a bull market, if new highs are posted on the price, but at the same time, the RSI is in decline, it suggests that the strength of the upside momentum is waning.  This situation is referred to as a Bearish Divergence (or a Negative Divergence) and implies that there is an increased likelihood of a reversal in the price.  

A Bullish Divergence can be seen in a bear market, where there the price is making lower lows, but the RSI is starting to rise or make higher lows.

The caveat for trading divergences is that a divergence between the price and the RSI can continue for some time before a reversal in price sets in.

3. Failure swings

A failure swing can occur in both an uptrend and a downtrend. In a bull market, a failure swing is a sell signal. It forms where the RSI moves into an extreme position above 70, only to then pull back below 70. The RSI then resumes a move higher only to create a second peak which is at or below the previous peak. The failure swing is then complete as the RSI moves back below its first low. In its perfect form, the RSI develops an “M” shaped pattern (or asymmetric “M”).

 In a bear market, a failure swing is a buy signal. It is formed where the RSI moves into an extreme position below 30, with a rally causing a low in the RSI and pulling it back above 30. The selling pressure resumes to drag the RSI back below 30 but is less pronounced. A second low is formed on the RSI either at or above the previous low. A failure swing is then completed as an improvement in the RSI pulls it back above the previous reaction high, thus forming (ideally) a “W” shaped pattern (or asymmetric “W”).

N.B. The best signals using the RSI use a combination of the signals.

For example, a bearish divergence with a failure swing can be a powerful sell signal.

Figure 5: An RSI bearish divergence with a failure swing on EUR/USD

Figure 5: An RSI bearish divergence with a failure swing on EUR/USD

RSI_graph4

N.B. As with all of our indicators, we don’t recommend trading with indicators in isolation. We would always look for confirmation signals in other studies to improve the conviction of our analysis.

Start trading now

Register now in 4 easy steps